Skip to main content


2015 RRMG Winners Announced!

Congratulations to the following teachers who have been selected to receive the 2014-15 Recreational Reading Mini-Grant!

Your books will be shipped in February*.

Alma Inclusive Preschool: Flores
Amanecer Primary Center: Rodriguez
Bandini Street School: Oconnor
Beardslee Elementary: Velusamy
Bryson Ave Elementary: Hernandez
Buford Elementary School: Tutt
Camino Nuevo Charter Academy: Ruiz
Castelar Elementary School: Quach
Dominguez Elementary School: Leonard
Dooley Elementary School: Ajiduah-Towery
Dr. Lawrence H Moore MST Academy: Bojorquez
Emelita Academy Charter School: Mitchell
Endeavor College Prep Charter School: Larson
Frederick Douglass Academy Charter Elementary School: Fischoff
Fries Ave: Acevedo
Gaines Elementary: Hughes
Gaines Elementary: Kaluzok
Gates St. Elementary School: Yokoyama
Glenwood Elementary School: Caputo
Gratts Early Education Center: Hernandez
Gratts Learning Academy for Young Scholars: Nicholls
Harrison K-8: Raby Neely
Hawaiian Ave Elementary School: Allen
Hawaiian Ave Elementary School: Anorve
Huntington Park Charter: Lian
Janie P. Abbott Elementary School: Garcia
Jefferson Elementary School: Cruz
Kenneth L Moffett Elementary School: Garcia
KIPP Sol Academy: Finn
Leland Street Elementary School: Colloca
Leland Street Elementary School: Lee
Leland Street Elementary School: Posod
Lizarraga Elementary School: Bugarin
Madison Elementary: Noriega
Mariposa Elementary: MacLeod
Meyler Street School: Neri
Mother of Sorrows Catholic School: Stryjewski
Pacoima Charter Elementary: Delgadillo
Point Fermin Marine Science Magnet: Bazant
Rowland Even Start Preschool Family Literary Program: Martinez
Solano Ave Elementary School: Buo
South Bay Universal Child Development Program: Ortiz
St. Malachy School: Ramirez
St. Raphael School: Perez
St. Raphael School: Jordan
St. Turibius School: Weber
Synergy Charter Academy: Parker
Synergy Charter Academy: Scannell
Towne Avenue School: Williams
Towne Avenue School: Gan
Tweedy Elementary School: Crespo
UCLA Community School: McNaughton
Vaughn Next Century Learning Center: Muro
View Park Elementary School: Mendez
View Park Elementary School: Le
West Athens Elementary: Marin
West Whittier Elementary School: Parker
Woodcrest Elementary School: Yoshizaki

Due to the high number of qualified and deserving applicants we were forced to make very difficult decisions when selecting the recipients of this initiative. To those who did not receive this grant, we applaud you for your efforts and are appreciative of the hard work that you put into securing resources for your students. To that end, we encourage you to visit the First Book Marketplace, which provides books to teachers in low income schools for 50-90% off retail prices.

*If you chose First Book as your bookseller, you will order books directly from the First Book marketplace. More details will be included in your award letter.