Skip to main content


2016 RRMG WInners Announced!

Congratulations to the following teachers who have been selected to receive the 2015-16 Recreational Reading Mini-Grant!

Your books will be shipped in February*.

75th Street Elementary: Rosa Moreno
75th Street Elementary: David W. Kwan
Alexandria Avenue Elementary :Juan Carlos Bernal
Ambassador School of Global Education: Eva Eng
Ambassador School of Global Education: Seunghwan Connor Jeon
Andres Duarte: Andrew Thill
Annandale Elementary : Sonia Salgado
Aspire Antonio Maria Lugo Academy: Dea Inguito
Brentwood Science Magnet: Jaime Porres
Bryson Elementary: AnaMartinez
Buchanan Street Elementary: Maribel Delgado-Rocha
Camino Nuevo Charter Academy: Sonia Perez
Carthay School of Environmental Studies Magnet : Christina Braley
Castelar Early Education Center: Cindy Chong
City Terrace Elementary: Teresa Moren
Discovery School: Laura LaMoreaux
Downtown Value School : Adriana Travers
Emelita Academy Charter: Gabriel Serrano
Esther Collins Early Education Center: Brenda Williams
Euclid Ave. Elementary: Beatriz Cortes
Florence Griffith Joyner Elementary: Mary Charlotte Borgen
Fries Avenue Elementary : Manuela Marrufo
Gifted Academy of Mathematical and Engineering Sciences: Veronica Serna
Glassell Park Elementary: Ava Polanco
Good Shepherd School: Gabriela Luna
Graham Elementary: Esperanza De La Torre
Grant Elementary:Elisa Van
Gratt Early Education Center: Rosa Brizuela
Gratts Learning Academy for Young Scholars : Marcos Estrada
Harry Bridges Span School: Christine Muneno
Heliotrope Avenue Elementary: Javier Landazuri
Kayne Siart: Jennifer Movsessian
Kingsley Elementary: Sarah Ngo
Kingsley Elementary: Miriam Salgado
Montara Avenue Elementary: Aurelia Huerta
Multnomah St. Elementary: Rocio Oran
New Open World Academy: Ryoko Matsui
Normandie Avenue Elementary: Hae Na Shin
Our Lady of Victory Catholic School: Kelsie Corriston
Park Western Place: Caroline La Haie
Richland Avenue Elementary: Gisela Gutierrez
Richland Avenue Elementary: Robert Miller
Richland Elementary: Will Olliff
Rosewood Avenue Elementary: Patricia Miller
San Pascual Elementary: Peggy Choi
Selma Avenue Elementary: Ashely Bonilla
St. Columbkille: Molina Meas
St. Columbkille: Elizabeth Barba
St. Raphael School: Leticia Quinones
Stanley Mosk Elementary: Adriana Vento
Stanley Mosk Elementary: Alex Zamora
Synergy Charter: Lauren Levy
Vermont Avenue Elementary : Sonia Robles
West Athens: Sonia Romero
Willow Elementary: Maria Salazar
Wilmington Park Elementary: Lisa J. Salas
Woodcrest Elementary : Maria de la Luz Mendonza

Due to the high number of qualified and deserving applicants we were forced to make very difficult decisions when selecting the recipients of this initiative. To those who did not receive this grant, we applaud you for your efforts and are appreciative of the hard work that you put into securing resources for your students. To that end, we encourage you to visit the First Book Marketplace, which provides books to teachers in low income schools for 50-90% off retail prices.

*If you chose First Book as your bookseller, you will order books directly from the First Book marketplace. More details will be included in your award letter.