Skip to main content


2017 RRMG Winners Announced!

Congratulations to the following teachers who have been selected to receive the 2016-17 Recreational Reading Mini-Grant!

Your books will be shipped in February*.

15th Street School: Kristen Zuchero
75th Street ES: Thuyanh Le Nguyen
93rd St Elementary: Fabiola Mejia-Garcia
Alcott Elementary: Cindy Yuen
Alice M. Ellington School: Kathleen Sahagian
Ambassador School of Global Education: Gerardo Felix
Aragon Avenue Elementary: Yolanda Serrato-Jonian
Ascension Catholic School: Megan Fraser
Bell Gardens Elementary: Vannessa Fowler
Bellingham Elementary: Sam Chaidez
Bellingham Elementary: Linda Cohen
Danube Avenue Elementary: Young Hyun
Endeavor College Preparatory Academy: Kate Morgan
Evergreen Elementary School: Jennifer Lee
Florence Griffith Joyner Elementary: Kelly Tabata
Fries Avenue Elementary School: Susana Marrufo Hernandez
Garfield Elementary: Mark Velasco
Gates St Elementary: Diane Yokoyama
George De La Torre Elementary: Heather Sowers
Grand View Blvd. Elementary: Ruth Fried
Grant Elementary: Alexis Lahera
Harmony Elementary: Lorena Beas
Harrison Elementary: Janice Raby Neely
Hawaiian Avenue Elementary School: Veronica Diaz
Judith Baca Arts Academy: Sara Rosas
Kester Ave Elementary: Monica Perez
KIPP Raices Academy: Chelsea Kraft
Korenstein Elementary School: Donna McInnes
Kornblum Elementary School: Melissa Clarke
Leland Street Elementary: Aracely Picazo
Lillian Street Elementary: Ivonne Chavez
Lomita STEAM Magnet: Jenny Yang
Lomita STEAM Magnet: Sarah Cho
Lydia Jackson Elementary: Leslie Garcia
Magnolia Avenue Elementary: Ana Martinez
Mark Kepple Visual and Performing Arts Magnet Elementary School: Aydee Salas
Maywood Elementary: Ayde Bravo
Maywood Elementary: Lorena Dominguez
Monte vista Elementary: Claudia Aguayo Salcedo
Normandie Early Education Center: Alec Dixon
Paseo del Rey Natural Science Magnet: Susan Obuchi
Plummer Elementary School: Michele Madrigal
PrePare Preschool: Aimee Mendoza
Rockdale VAPA Magnet: Nicolette Zimmerman
Rosa Parks Learning Center: Emilie Waschak
Rosa Parks Learning Center: Juan Rivas
Russell Elementary School: Norma Reyes
Saint Sebastian Dual: Carla Rivera
Seventh Street School: Carrie Merrihew
St. Matthias: Deborah Zamora
St. Stephen Martyr School: Jessica Doran
Stanley Mosk Elementary: Debra Serrano
Stanley Mosk Elementary: Deborah Medina
Stanley Mosk Elementary: David Barba
Stanley Mosk Elementary: Jenny Lacayo
Sylvan Park Elementary: Anthony Castro
Sylvan Park Elementary School: Carlota Arzate
Synergy Charter Academy: Laura Wilkinson
Toluca Lake Elemntary: Rick Lee
Towne Avenue Elementary School: Esperanza Maricel
Vintage Magnet Elementary: Bridget Betts
William Anderson Elementary School: Joshua Jacobs
Willom Elementary School: Kristin Oropeza
Willowbrook: Candice Bondad
Wilshire Park Elementary School: Jennifer Hernandez
Wilshire Park Elementary School: Maggie Kim

Due to the high number of qualified and deserving applicants we were forced to make very difficult decisions when selecting the recipients of this initiative. To those who did not receive this grant, we applaud you for your efforts and are appreciative of the hard work that you put into securing resources for your students. To that end, we encourage you to visit the First Book Marketplace, which provides books to teachers in low income schools for 50-90% off retail prices.

*If you chose First Book as your bookseller, you will order books directly from the First Book marketplace. More details will be included in your award letter.